Another Recipe, yes?

I’m starting to worry! What will I do in a couple of days when I finally finish going through the handful of recipes I love? I guess I’ll have to give it some thought, since I kind of like this blogging thing… 🙂

Ok, today’s recipe is another cookie. Incredibly simple and with very few ingredients.

I’ll post the recipe (click on the name if you want to go to the recipe site) and then make comments with regards to the changes I made…

Pecan Sandies

Sorry about the blurry picture...

Ingredients

  • 1 cup butter
  • 1/3 cup white sugar
  • 2 teaspoons water
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla extract
  • 2 cups sifted all-purpose flour
  • 1 cup chopped pecans
  • 3 tablespoons confectioners’ sugar

Directions

  1. In a medium bowl, cream together the butter and sugar until smooth. Beat in the water and vanilla. Stir in the flour and pecans until well blended. Cover dough and chill for at least four hours.
  2. Preheat oven to 325 degrees F (165 degrees C). Shape dough into walnut sized balls or crescents. Place 2 inches apart onto unprepared cookie sheets.
  3. Bake for 18 to 20 minutes in the preheated oven, until golden. Roll in confectioners’ sugar while still warm.
My Comments:
  • Substituted self rising cake flour for the all purpose… It’s what I had and it made no difference, I think.
  • Added 1/2 cup of white sugar instead of 1/3 of a cup. Reviews on Allrecipes varied… But since I was going to make one additional change (see next), I decided to add a bit more sugar.
  • Did not roll the cookies in confectioners sugar. And, to be honest, this step was not missed at all. The consistency of the cookies was lovely! silky and smooth, melt in your mouth, buttery cookies. YUM!
  • Chopped the pecans in my mini chopper (food processor) finely. With just a little bit of crunch left.
  • Added about 1 1/4 cups of these finely chopped pecans instead of 1 cup.
  • I did not chill for four hours. As usual, my first batch was in the oven as soon as the batter was mixed. Then I did put it in the refrigerator, but it was never in there for over 40 minutes (I was alternating two different kinds of cookies).
  • Baked the cookies at around 350 degrees instead of 325.
  • Made teaspoon sized cookies and the recipe yielded about 50 cookies of this size.
  • Baked them for 12 minutes. Bottoms were nice and brown, tops are light. Perfectly cooked and smooth consistency.
Wow, these are amazing cookies! Sweet, but not overly so… Easy to make and bake, and you should see people’s reactions the first time they bite into them! It reminds me why I love to bake so  much!!!
I’ve only got a couple of posts left. Since I have a limited selection of recipes I LOVE. If you have any requests or suggestions for future posts, just leave me a comment, and I’ll work on it!
Leave a Reply

