Carrot Cake

I may have to start cooking every day, just to add recipes to my blog! πŸ™‚

This carrot cake was fun to make and easier than I thought. It was moist and pretty when cut. If you go to Allrecipes or follow the recipe URL to check, you’ll see that there is a cream cheese icing included in the recipe. I did not use that recipe. I use the Brown Sugar Cream Cheese Frosting Recipe, and I’ll share it below. It’s a better alternative, I think, as it contains MUCH less sugar, and is just as tasty and delicious as any other cream cheese icing I’ve had. In my opinion πŸ™‚

Carrot Cake

Ingredients

  • 4 eggs
  • 1 1/4 cups vegetable oil
  • 2 cups white sugar
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla extract
  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 2 teaspoons baking soda
  • 2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 2 teaspoons ground cinnamon
  • 3 cups grated carrots
  • 1 cup chopped pecans

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F (175 degrees C). Grease and flour a 9×13 inch pan.
  2. In a large bowl, beat together eggs, oil, white sugar and 2 teaspoons vanilla. Mix in flour, baking soda, baking powder, salt and cinnamon. Stir in carrots. Fold in pecans. Pour into prepared pan.
  3. Bake in the preheated oven for 40 to 50 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted into the center of the cake comes out clean. Let cool in pan for 10 minutes, then turn out onto a wire rack and cool completely.

My Comments:

  • As with my previous recipes, I substituted self rising cake flour for the flour, baking powder and salt in the recipe.
  • Instead of grating the carrots, I chopped them finely in my mini food processor.
  • Substituted brown sugar for the white sugar.
  • Substituted walnuts for the pecans.
  • Divided the batter into two circular (silicone) cake pans. My oven is tiny! So, I baked one in the top and one in the middle rack. At around 20 minutes I switched the cakes. At 40 minutes, one was done, so I let the other one bake for a couple of extra minutes. Of course, this has to do more with my tiny oven, than with anything else…
  • I don’t have a wire rack! So, I just let them sit on the counter in their pretty silicone pans until cool.

Brown Sugar Cream Cheese Frosting

Ingredients

  • 1 (8 ounce) package cream cheese, softened
  • 2 tablespoons unsalted butter
  • 2 tablespoons light brown sugar
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1 teaspoon almond extract
  • 1 tablespoon honey

Directions

  1. Melt butter and allow to cool.
  2. In a large bowl, combine cream cheese, butter, brown sugar, vanilla and almond extract. Beat with an electric mixer. When mixture starts to stiffen, stop mixer and add honey.
  3. Continue to beat until light and fluffy. Do not over mix, or it will collapse.
  4. Spread immediately and store cake in refrigerator.
My Comments:
  • Did not melt the butter. I just let it sit at room temperature until it got really soft (I’m in Puerto Rico, so this goes very fast).
  • Doubled the recipe, but only added half the amount of almond extract. Reviews on Allrecipes vary with regards to the almond extract. I actually liked the subtle almond flavor when halved, but I think the full amount may be too much for us.
  • I used salted butter, because it’s all I had!
The frosting recipe is just divine! So little sugar when compared to other icing recipes, and believe me, you won’t miss it!
Please don’t laugh at my carrots… I love to bake, but I’m not artistic at all! We were in a hurry, so I just added a bit of food coloring in a ziplog baggy to the frosting, mixed it up, snipped the corner of the bag and piped (as fast as I could) the design. I (and my mommy and auntie and uncle and grammy – LOVE you!) thought it was pretty… (and delicious!)
Remember to let me know if you have any ideas/suggestions/questions for future posts.
And again, happy baking, and Β‘Buen Provecho!
1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. t.bird
    Jan 12, 2010 @ 16:50:47

    that is freaking adorable!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

