Tasty Tuesday

I spent all week thinking about what I should share for Tasty Tuesday this week. I had a couple of ideas, but, after a hectic weekend, had not been able to make any of them.

As a last-ditch effort, I looked through some bookmarked “simple” desserts. I was looking for something that I could easily handle after work without making too much of a mess.

The good news? I found the perfect recipe!

The bad news? It contains Nutella – one of my favorite things EVER. So, if I make this recipe often? I’ll be rolling around town. 🙂

The incredible news? This recipe has FOUR ingredients! Yes, four! (ok, so I cheated and added one more. I’m sure that you’ll forgive me. :))

This is one of the simplest recipes I’ve ever found. It’s fast prep, one bowl, fast bake and the taste? Delicious! Husband approved!!!

So, I’m sure you’re tired of all the talk. Let’s get to the recipe.

Today, for our second Tasty Tuesday, we’re making Nutella Fudge Brownies. The recipe is by Abigail Johnson Dodge from Fine Cooking.

Please do not comment on my brownie with a huge hole in it. I inserted a toothpick to check for doneness and skewered a walnut. 🙂

The recipe is supposed to make 12 mini cupcakes or 6 normal cupcakes. I got 7 cupcakes. I’m sure it was due to my 5th ingredient. And the fact that I made my own directions. 🙂

Ingredients

1/2 cup Nutella chocolate-hazelnut spread (overflowing if you’re like me. Then, lick the knife. It’s the law)
1 large egg
5 Tbs. all-purpose flour
1/4 cup chopped hazelnuts(or whichever nut you like or no nuts if you don’t like them)
I added 1/4 cup of milk chocolate chips. (I’m a chocoholic, what can I say?)

Preparation (Dark pictures courtesy of my iPhone and night-time shooting)

Heat the oven to 350°F. Line a 12-cup mini muffin pan with paper or foil liners. Or, as in my case, liberally spray the cupcake pan with cooking spray, since you have no liners! 🙂

Put the Nutella and egg in a medium bowl and whisk (whisk – spoon, tomato – tomahto) until smooth and well blended.

Add the flour and whisk until blended.

Add chopped walnuts into the mix because a) you don’t have hazelnuts and b) you’re a rebel and want the nuts IN the brownie instead of on top.

NOT pictured. Add the fifth ingredient – milk chocolate chips – or whichever ingenious rebellious ingredient is your favorite. Butterscotch? White chocolate chips? Cinnamon? Caramel chips? Marshmallows? Truly? Anything goes!!!

Spoon the batter into the prepared muffin tins (about 3/4 full) and sprinkle with the chopped hazelnuts. (or don’t sprinkle if you already added them :))

Bake until a pick comes out with wet, gooey crumbs, 11 to 12 minutes. (Be careful not to skewer a walnut, leaving a gaping hole in your beautiful brownie) My normal sized cupcakes baked for 18 minutes in my temperamental oven. I would recommend to check them at twelve. I would bake mine for 15 or 16 minutes next time, since I really think I overbaked mine. Although they were still delicious!!!

Set on a rack to cool completely. (Or just eat them warm with a tall glass of milk, because, you know, you’re too impatient and they look too pretty) Serve immediately or cover and store at room temperature for up to 3 days (I do NOT know in what parallel universe this small amount of brownies would last three days. If your house is like that, invite me over and we’ll take care of that for you ;)).

Please, do yourself a favor and TRY this recipe. You’ll be surprised and you’ll be hooked.

Tasty Tuesday!

Click on through and head on over to Sweets for a Saturday to check out a ton more yummy recipes!

Another linky party! Click on through for this week’s chocolate theme!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Tina
    Mar 21, 2011 @ 18:05:19

    THIS WEEK’S CRAVINGS Linky Party we are featuring CHOCOLATE… CHOCOLATE… and MORE CHOCOLATE. We would love to have you link up any great chocolate recipe!

    http://momscrazycooking.blogspot.com/2011/03/this-weeks-cravings-21-chocolate-and.html

    Reply

  2. Tina @ MOMS CRAZY COOKING
    Mar 22, 2011 @ 21:57:30

    We are really really going to make these MAYBE TONIGHT!

    Thanks so much for coming back and linking to THIS WEEK’S CRAVINGS… we are already enjoying over 100 recipes, so make sure to stop back by and see all the different CHOCOLATE stuff! It’s gonna be one SWEET week of all CHOCOLATE!

    And don’t forget to come back next week (Monday) for “HIDDEN INGREDIENT”… “What can you hide in your recipes?”

    http://momscrazycooking.blogspot.com/search/label/THIS%20WEEKS%20CRAVINGS

    Reply

Leave a Reply

